How Office Work Effects you?

Would you like to retire with a sedentary condition, diabetes or heart disease? I bet you wouldn’t. Most of office workers heading that way but there is a simple and easy way to change your personal direction…

By TONY OLEJNICKI | Creator of the QLS Program

Do you know how many people in your business enjoy coming to work and spending 8 hours in the office?…

Statistically only 20%. Imagine productivity improvements if that changed to 80%. Scientific experiments and studies demonstrate that this is easily achievable.

So, what is wrong with office work?

After all, office conditions are generally comfortable: air condition, comfortable chair, ergonomic setup. It should be easy to work through 8 hours. The problem is the comfortable office chair encourages immobility.
Immobility leads to muscle atrophy, high blood pressure, high blood sugar, and diabetes. High cholesterol is triggered by sitting, causing heart disease. These are real and unavoidable consequences of motionless sitting leading to lower life expectancy. Statistically, 50% of office workers will succumb to one or more sedentary diseases before they retire.

I understand that because I was there. I experienced high blood pressure and high cholesterol level despite doing all the right things. I always exercised 1 hour a day and cooked nutritious meals at home. I went through many tests, many doctors, and cardiologists to no avail. I was told it is genetic and nothing can be done about it, short of medications. I tried that also.

I quit a good engineering job not because it was boring, but I was concerned about my health. I started the adventure company training corporate clients for a high altitude climb as a personal challenge. It made me happier but I still struggled with an excessive blood pressure and cholesterol every time I returned from the Himalayas back to Australia.

I came across a book by James Levine ‘Get Up’. This prompted me to follow research by the Mayo Clinic and Dr. Marc Hamilton, about sitting effects on the human body. Sitting is detrimental to the human health; in a way, it is worse than cigarette smoking and kills more people than HIV. We all have the opportunity to change that, otherwise, we will break our health system with the cost of sedentary diseases. Most will also develop a poor Quality Lifestyle starting in the 50’s and be continuing through to retirement.

Would you like to retire with a sedentary condition, diabetes or heart disease?…

Finally, I understood the reason for my condition and took action. I applied the research results to my case using a system engineering approach. Just changing to a mobile working environment, my blood pressure plummeted from 180/90 to 130/70 within 3 weeks. My LDL (“bad” cholesterol), as well as my triglyceride level, tested after 3 months, is now in a normal range. All that without any medications. So a correctly applied system engineering works.

I applied my system engineering approach and the exercise physiology to the high altitude training to develop Quality Lifestyle (QLS) program for the office workers.

The purpose of the QLS program is to help office-based employees switch to a mobility working environment. This, in turn, will lead not only to a better health and quality lifestyle but more importantly it brings measurable productivity improvements for the business.

Did you know that every hour of motionless sitting in a chair lowers your life expectancy by 22 minutes?

An average office worker in western countries spends 8 hours sitting at work, 2 hours sitting while commuting and 2 hours at home staring at TV set or PC screen.

In Europe, the majority of people over 50, take on average 6 different medications a day to combat sedentary conditions.

Can you calculate your life expectancy over 30 years of work? Unsure? CLICK Here for the answer.

Tony Olejnicki – an engineer, writer, motivator and exercise physiologist specializing in high altitude training – is the creator of IMA (Infinite Mountain Adventure), an inspirational company helping professional working in an office environment to improve life quality and experience a motivational Himalayan adventure.

 CONTACT Tony Olejnicki by Email 

Contact us for a free consultation about the personalized transition QLS Program to mobility in your workplace. Send feedback or questions to the author:

One thought on “How Office Work Effects you?”

Leave a Reply

